It’s all in my head

It’s all in our heads.  Isn’t everything?

If you want to change what’s below your neck, you need to change what’s above the neck.  Meaning, if you want to change your body, you need to change your mind.

This couldn’t be more true.  Diet and weight loss can be found in a box, a pill, a drink, even a surgery.  Whatever works – I’m not here to judge any of them.  I’ve struggled with weight loss my entire adult life.  We all need to do what is right for ourselves and it’s no one else’s business what that something is.

But what happens NEXT?  What happens AFTER we lose weight?  That piece is what’s in our head. That piece is what we have to figure out.  And sometimes….no, MOST times…that’s the hard part.

I wish I could tell you that I have it figured out.  I don’t.
I wish I could tell you that I no long struggle.  I can’t.
I wish I could tell you that once you keep the weight off for five or more years, you’re in the clear.  Nope.
I wish I could give you the answers so you can go on your way and succeed.  Well, I don’t have them.
I just know one thing.  It’s in our heads.

And my head is different than your head.  In fact, my head today is different than my head last week or last month or last year.  I have to reevaluate.  All. The. Time.  I have to ask myself “why” on a regular basis because the answer changes.  Do you do that?  Do you actually ask yourself why?  Why do you want to run a marathon?  Why do you want to be thin?  Why do you want to lose weight?  Why do you want size 6 jeans?  Why do you want to ____?  You’d be surprised at your answers.  They also might change over time.  Sometimes you might actually not have the answer – and that usually is when you realize you’re not doing what it takes to get there.  Because deep down, you don’t want to get there anymore, you want to go elsewhere.  “Once I lose the weight, I’ll be fine, I’ll figure it all out.”  Nope.

I don’t care if your goal is to buy cute clothes or to live longer or to be strong or all of the above.  What is important is what you care about.  And if you understand why you want to do things, you’ll figure out the how.  The world is filled with HOW.  But if the WHY doesn’t come first I can pretty much guarantee you won’t have long term success. And all of the WHYs are in your head.

So the trick is figuring out what’s in your head.  That takes patience and forgiveness.  Patience with yourself.  Forgiveness for the rest of the world who’s told you what you should want.  Forgiveness for yourself for listening.  And maybe a piece of paper and a pencil.  Make sure it has an eraser.  Make your list of WHY.  Then we can figure out the HOW.

Leave a Reply

