New Year’s Resolutions – yay or nay?

In the past I can tell you that I’ve made numerous New Year’s resolutions that I broke no later than January 5th (on a good year.)  But I don’t NOT believe in them.  I totally believe in goals and resolutions – just not necessarily ones that start on a Monday or the 1st or “tomorrow.”

On the other hand, there’s something magical about that empty field of a new year.  It’s like virgin snow – you can do with it whatever you want.  I like the blank canvas idea.  I like knowing that I can mould this coming year in to whatever kind of year I want.  It’s invigorating!  I have control.  But what do I do with it?  What do I want to happen in 2014?

Do I make myself an exercise fiend?  I have a new elliptical that wants to be my new best friend.  Do I start running again?  Do I hire a personal trainer, do exercise videos, sign up for new physical challenges? 

Do I plan each week’s meals?  Do I take on new recipe sites, create a meal plan, make sure my fridge is stocked with fruits, veggies, lean proteins and healthy indulgences? 

I have to be honest with you.  I can’t promise you, let alone myself, what I’ll do next week.  I’m the most loosy goosey person I know – Okay…maybe I know one or two others.   But I do believe in goals and making them very achievable.  If something is too lofty – I fail.  I have to break it down. 

So maybe the New Year’s resolution would be to have Michele Obama arms. (Oh come on…who doesn’t want those gams?)  I’d have to break it down.  Specific weight lifting goals, specific arm exercises, specific deadlines to achieve certain milestones.  Then…if I attain all those measureable goals I will see improvement.  Will they be the same as the First Lady’s?  Maybe – maybe not.  But without a breakdown of different mini goals, I’d never have been able to even compare. 

The same goes if I say I want to run a marathon.  Do I just “get it over with” by running it tomorrow?  Well, that would be a nice way to check it off my list, but since I’ve never run over 13.1 miles in my life and that was a few years ago, I probably couldn’t run 26.2 tomorrow.  But I could if I broke it down. 

You get the picture. 

So resolve to do something – even something big.  But break it down. 

Here are some VERY minor tips on being successful in your goals:

  1.  Be realistic, but lofty. Know you’re capable of unbelievable accomplishments!
  2. Be kind to yourself. Forgive yourself but don’t make excuses.  Who are you shortchanging?
  3. Be kind – to yourself and others – in your quest.  (Trust me, kindness makes the goals easier to accomplish.)
  4. Be accountable – to yourself or to someone else.  You do NOT have to be perfect – you’re human! – but you can be persistent and accountable. Own your steps forward and your trips behind.
  5. Reward yourself with meaningful and proportionate rewards.  Set that reward system up beforehand!

Make your resolutions – be it a New Year’s resolution or just a “I’m-doing-this-just-for-today” resolution.   Do it for you.  You’re worth the climb.

Image

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions – yay or nay?

  1. I nixed the resolutions this year but went for a 101 goals in 1001 days list instead. I’m actually excited to get started on it and work through it. I think the more regular crossing off of goals will help with motivation through the entire challenge.

Leave a Reply

