Gratitude

This world has evil in it. I’m not naïve and think everyone can just be “all about the love.” (Although why not?)   And although I firmly believe that we all have power to affect change, that’s not the purpose of this blog post. It’s what we DO with what’s around us that help define our moments.   How do we look at tragic events? How do we act, react, feel and share? In order to relish in happy moments, you don’t have to be frolicking up and down the street singing Disney songs – you just have to recognize those moments. Those good – happy – content – peaceful moments can come at any time – any place.   Where are the contrasts?

Was everything about the Charleston shooting horrific? Hearing the victims’ families say “I forgive you” in court was heart-filling beautiful.
The second sip of coffee in the morning after a rough night of no sleep (the first sip I don’t even know is happening!)
The rainbow after the storm.
The mind calming after the laundry’s done and the kids are in bed and the dishes are put away.
The worm that makes you cringe turning in to a stunningly-beautiful butterfly.
The seeing how I looked * THEN * so I can appreciate how I’ve changed.
The test results that said you no longer have to take blood pressure medicine because of all the healthy changes you’ve made.

This whole past month of Weight Watchers we focused on happiness.   We started the series by relishing in those happy moments, then took a brain break and settled our busy minds, then focused on our vision of where we see ourselves going and completed the month by focusing on gratitude. We went outside our box in the meeting delivery and anytime you do that, there will be some resistance. It’s okay to be uncomfortable. In order to REALLY appreciate sometimes you have to feel the contrast. And that’s where gratitude comes to play.

I was uncomfortable the first time I walked in to Weight Watchers to lose weight. I was uncomfortable with making changes in my food plan. I was uncomfortable with leading my first Weight Watcher meeting. I was uncomfortable when they changed the plan.   Change is uncomfortable. But uncomfortable doesn’t mean it’s bad. I’m so grateful for being uncomfortable ENOUGH to know I needed to walk in the door.   I’m grateful for my leader telling me to apply to the company. I’m grateful for my members who truly inspire me all the time through their hard work and their struggles and their small and big victories. The first time a member cried and hugged me SO tight because it was the first time she was under 200 pounds in 40 years – that’s what makes me SO grateful for being uncomfortable enough to walk in the door.

I have a home. I have two amazing kids. I have the most amazing husband. I have two great jobs. I have spunk and smarts and giggles. Was I always happy? No. But what I have found out through the science is that 50% of your “happiness quotient” is based on physical makeup and only 10% is based on your circumstance – 40% – yes FORTY PERCENT – is choice. It’s intentional.   So the systematic approach I’ve taken over the last decade of my life to eliminate the negative  (isn’t Facebook great that you can unfollow or hide?) allows me to see those who fill my feed with positivity.   I was helping someone with something on Facebook and there was meme after meme of bitterness and karma and negativity – even humorous ones – but I realized that my page isn’t like that. And I realized why. I’ve hidden it all – I’ve added those who feed me (literally with bacon and coffee as well as figuratively with bacon and gratitude.  What?) When I have a bad day at the office, I am thankful for the car that takes me home from there. When I broke my foot, I was thankful for my family that didn’t hesitate in caring for me. When my mom died, I relished in the fact that over 400 people showed up to tell me how much she meant to them. When I gain weight I’m grateful that I’m in a program that, if I followed it, works and that I can lose it again. I’m grateful for my friends and loved ones who help me when I struggle and see sparkly things and get distracted.   I’m grateful for that small joy in the day-to-day and the knowledge that I can find joy in almost anything.   I’m thankful that I’ve realized that I eat less emotionally when I feel the positive feelings: appreciation, loved, content, thankful.

I have a superpower.   (I think we all do, but the trick is to finding it and using it for good!)   I can reframe. The attitude of gratitude is what gives me my superpower of reframing which in turn makes me grateful for that ability.   So ask yourself – what do you have?   What GOOD do you have? Where are your joys!

If you got this far….I’m grateful!
I’m grateful for you.

Leave a Reply

