Choose you

 

Last week I was very proud to be part of a fantastic program launch for Weight Watchers – Beyond the Scale. It’s our biggest change in over 50 years because we’re not just focusing on weight loss. Don’t get me wrong – we’re DELIVERING on weight loss – big time! But you aren’t just a number on the scale and so WE are not just focusing on that anymore. We’re focusing on the food, yes, but also fitness and also fulfillment. The three Fs. This is, hands down, the best program we’ve EVER done and I give kudos to the scientists and the other creative forces behind it all.

In this midst of this insanely large launch, we had some technical difficulty with our site and our phone apps. Ok, that was too diplomatic. We crashed in the technology department. For weeks prior to launch and since our site has only worked properly a handful of hours. Having a husband in the IT business, I could put money on the fact that there are many men and women running around with no sleep, their hair on fire and stressed out to the absolute max.  I’m completely confident they’ll get it all right.

But in the midst of launching and the technology issues, people (staff and members alike) felt lost, frustrated, annoyed, angry, defeated, depressed.
What happened to us? Can we no longer function  without an app? Without a website? Do we no longer know that grilled chicken breast is better than deep fried chicken wings without an app? Do we not know that chocolate still is high in calories even if we can’t plug that brand in to our phones? Do you need an app to tell you that Alfredo may not be the best choice?  Do you think that chicken fried steak with mashed potatoes and gravy and a biscuit is now, all of a sudden, low in calories and good for us?

I agree that apps make it simple and fun. Sometimes they make things really easy. I have one app that beeps at me to take my vitamin, then another to drink water, then the food apps I have, then the FitBit app. I have picture apps and social apps and reading apps and puzzle apps. There are some days I wonder if I could even function without an app. But I have. So I can.

I can tell you with 100% certainty that if you had someone to make all your food and measure it all out and another to be a personal trainer, you might lose weight. I say might because those people aren’t with you all the time. If you don’t want it, then don’t blame others for not getting it. You have to want it. You have to want it badly. You have to want the smaller sized dress MORE than you want the Five Guys fries. You have to have skin in the game and you have to work hard. And every single one of you can do it without technology. Technology is a gift – and a bonus – it’s icing on the proverbial cake (which has no points, by the way.) It’ll come. But if you’re saying that you can’t do it without technology, then, in my opinion, you don’t want it badly enough.

But I believe you do. I believe you do want it bad enough.  And I believe you can have it. But folks – it’s about your choices and not about your technology.

In these days with all the pressures we face, technology can be pressure and it can be fun. But it can’t make us US. That has to come from inside.

Assuming we lived to 80 years we’d have 29, 200 days. We have one body. We have free will. I’m not normally a numbers girl, but in this case, the numbers talked to me.

Don’t waste those days. Make your choices count. Jean Nidetch, Weight Watchers founder said, “It’s choice, not chance, that determines our destiny.”  Don’t give up on yourself.  Choose well. And choose you.

10846490_10205309925018833_462313047750705162_n-2

2 thoughts on “Choose you

  1. Marci, you outdid yourself this time and you couldn’t have said it any better than you did. I have been reading the message boards all morning about members unhappy with the new plan and with Weight Watchers changing the plan we had. I mean the lists go on and on about what they did not like and what was missing from the plan now, etc. I have been a member for years and got to my goal in 1984. I have gone through so many plan changes and I think this is by far the best plan every, especially focusing on fats and sugar which both play an important part in you health and well being. Weight watchers has made it easy to track everyday and they have made it a way of life. You are so right that a person should take the responsibility of doing and taking this journey to lose the weight upon themselves and use the tools that Weight Watchers is giving you on this plan. If your miss the healthy guide lines that they had before, just plan it all in your weekly food plan, as it all works, it is another tool.
    Good job Marci on this blog and thank you Weight Watchers for making my life even better.

  2. OO! OO! WELL SAID!! “Things are as they are. Looking out at the universe at night, we make no comparisons between right and wrong stars, nor between well and badly arranged constellations.” Alan Watts “I would always rather be happy than dignified.”   Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” ~~Ralph Waldo Emerson When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” – Fred Rogers

    From: Losing weight….Maintaining weight loss…. living life! And bacon! To: marie_claire111@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, December 14, 2015 3:17 PM Subject: [New post] Choose you #yiv3356934431 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3356934431 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3356934431 a.yiv3356934431primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3356934431 a.yiv3356934431primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3356934431 a.yiv3356934431primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3356934431 a.yiv3356934431primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3356934431 WordPress.com | marciwalker posted: ” Last week I was very proud to be part of a fantastic program launch for Weight Watchers – Beyond the Scale. It’s our biggest change in over 50 years because we’re not just focusing on weight loss. Don’t get me wrong – we’re DELIVERING on weight lo” | |

Leave a Reply

