No exclamation points today

A member told me a few days ago that she visited her mom in Tennessee for the holidays and went to a Weight Watcher meeting there as her mom’s a member.   Of course I gave her a bravo for doing that and asked how the meeting was.

“My mom loves her leader and I see why. But she’s a comma where you’re an exclamation point.” The room laughed and I smiled and we moved on with other inspirations.

Today my son went back home.   The irony of that statement is that prior to visit, we both spoke of him coming home for the holidays.   And it became clearer to him as well as us (his parents) that his home is not with us. This is part of raising kids. It’s such a joy and a privilege to give them their first home. But it’s just that. Their first home. And it’s with simultaneous emotions of love, pride and joy and sadness and awakening, and a bit too much “adulting” comes the realization that OUR home – although he KNOWS he’ll always have a place in it – is not HIS home.

So today, as I pray for his safe travels and smile as I enjoyed seeing him and am totally proud of the man he’s become, I have no exclamation points.

2 thoughts on “No exclamation points today

  1. YOU ARE THE GREATEST MOM EVER!!!!! SEE? EXCLAMATION POINTS!!!! “Things are as they are. Looking out at the universe at night, we make no comparisons between right and wrong stars, nor between well and badly arranged constellations.” Alan Watts “I would always rather be happy than dignified.”   Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” ~~Ralph Waldo Emerson When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” – Fred Rogers

    From: Losing weight….Maintaining weight loss…. living life! And bacon! To: marie_claire111@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, January 5, 2016 8:28 AM Subject: [New post] No exclamation points today #yiv8081310918 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8081310918 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8081310918 a.yiv8081310918primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8081310918 a.yiv8081310918primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8081310918 a.yiv8081310918primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8081310918 a.yiv8081310918primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8081310918 WordPress.com | marciwalker posted: “A member told me a few days ago that she visited her mom in Tennessee for the holidays and went to a Weight Watcher meeting there as her mom’s a member.   Of course I gave her a bravo for doing that and asked how the meeting was.“My mom loves her leader” | |

  2. Marci, I needed this blog today. You are so right with our adult children who have moved out and moved on with their lives, whether they are married and have a family of their own or just living as a single adult in their own place. I feel that we give them the best home life growing up and guide them in the right direction to make decisions and be the best that they can when they leave our home. I too are proud of my adult kids and the grandchildren as well.

Leave a Reply

