Sometimes I’m up for a challenge. Sometimes I am the challenge.

Sometimes I’m up for a challenge.
Sometimes I am the challenge.

I could take this a lot of ways.   Today after lunch it was simply tripping over NOTHING (or, as I say, that big invisible rock) in the middle of the hallway.   Flat ground seems to be a problem. But in reality, this is what I’m seeing this month of January in Weight Watcher meetings and it’s reminding me of my own journey.

Sometimes I’m up for a challenge. Ask a friend. Start a diet. Go to a meeting or two. Get excited. Learn a new program. This is fun. OOOhhhh, I’m losing weight. This is great!   Then the friend can’t make a meeting and you don’t want to NOT do it together so you pass it up, too. Then there’s happy hour with the girls and then there’s the dinner out with the hubs.   Then there’s the chocolate cake.   And now….

Sometimes I am the challenge.

Who relates?

At lunch today – before the stumble – I was talking to my friend who is starting a new race season.   “I guess I’m the kind of person who always needs a challenge.” I loved this. Where are we if we don’t have something to work towards?   We’re stagnant. A marathon doesn’t have to be your challenge. It could be to start – and then finish – reading a book on your list, blogging regularly, bench pressing a higher weight, running a marathon, losing 20 pounds, or getting a new job.

Challenges should be part of everyday. They are part of everyday. Sometimes it’s our colleagues. Sometimes it’s our friends’ troubles. Sometimes it’s our boss.   Sometimes it’s a headache. Sometimes it’s more of a serious illness. Sometimes it’s our kids. We face challenges every single day. And yet we survive. We go to bed, wake up to face new ones.

When I was a kid, my friends would “dare me” to do this or that. (No, I’m not telling what or who!) But what made the dare fun was the challenge.   It was out of the comfort zone. That’s what made it scary. That’s what made it fun.

I have to do the same with weight loss and weight maintenance. I have to make it interesting – worth doing.

One of yesterday’s challenging was the entire conversation I had within myself about getting the chocolate. You see, the day before I was stuck at home and had chocolate in my head and there was almost none to be found. Even my emergency stash (don’t judge, people!) was gone. I managed to find, in my baking stash about a dozen chocolate chips that had to be from a least 2 years ago kept inside a bag of mini marshmallows that had to be equally as old. Ever try to break apart mini marshmallows that are determined to stick together? Nevermind. Anyway, I was having a pity party for myself and wanted….needed chocolate to be invited.   It was sad. So yesterday I was out and facing the store and in front of the chocolate.

“Do I get you, Riesens? I like you most. But I will eat the whole bag and feel sick.   I don’t need you. I need some healthy small amount. But that dark chocolate candy bar isn’t enough. What if I want more? But you’re doing so well.   You haven’t had any for a while. You really don’t need this. But I want some. I can have some. All I have to do is track it and I’m on plan. I know exactly how much that would be. But you’re having company this weekend and you’ll go over your budget with them. With wine. You don’t need the chocolate. The company needs the chocolate.”

Yeah – that all happened in my head. I’m still asking….who relates?

Sometimes I’m up for a challenge.
Sometimes I am the challenge.

Really the only thing that differs in these two statements is the attitude.

If nourishing is my theme for 2016, I must face these challenges with the attitude of “can do.”  I need to have healthier conversations with myself than the one with the chocolate.  I need to realize that every place I’ve been, every task I’ve done, every job I’ve had leads me, and – most importantly – prepares me for  the next challenge.   Now that next challenge could simply be going to the grocery store before a forecasted snowstorm or to nurture my members towards their weight loss goals in a better way than I did before.   I must have the third statement.

Sometimes I’m hungry for a challenge.

 

2 thoughts on “Sometimes I’m up for a challenge. Sometimes I am the challenge.

  1. LOVE this. I am my own challenge and I’m coming atcha tomorrow! Don’t say you haven’t been warned… Norman sez we will arrange/furnish/pay for dinner Sat. or Sunday. Your choice. Notice I didn’t say : prepare dinner. Still not completely back into the cooking vibe.

    My challenge for 100 days is to TRACK. Yep you read it right: TRACK. Not points or measurements, but just the food and wine I consume. First week I made it to 4 days, skipped a week in a fit of pique, then tracked the next 14 days. I want praise! Have had it with Fitbit which is giving me reports of 17 and say, 23 steps on days I was really bookin’ it. Now I have a groin pull that I have to baby for at least 2 weeks to give it time to heal. BUT I released 1.2 this week, so evidently the Tracking is working! made CC cookie for BC from scratch, ate only 2 vs. the whole first cookie sheet contents. To me, that’s progress. Gotta turn in my Hospice visit reports.  Hope I can sleep tonight! Love you all!♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ “Things are as they are. Looking out at the universe at night, we make no comparisons between right and wrong stars, nor between well and badly arranged constellations.” Alan Watts “I would always rather be happy than dignified.”   Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” ~~Ralph Waldo Emerson When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” – Fred Rogers

    From: Losing weight….Maintaining weight loss…. living life! And bacon! To: marie_claire111@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, January 15, 2016 2:19 PM Subject: [New post] Sometimes I’m up for a challenge. Sometimes I am the challenge. #yiv7860508721 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7860508721 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7860508721 a.yiv7860508721primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7860508721 a.yiv7860508721primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7860508721 a.yiv7860508721primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7860508721 a.yiv7860508721primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7860508721 WordPress.com | marciwalker posted: “Sometimes I’m up for a challenge.Sometimes I am the challenge.I could take this a lot of ways.   Today after lunch it was simply tripping over NOTHING (or, as I say, that big invisible rock) in the middle of the hallway.   Flat ground seems to be a pro” | |

  2. Thank you for this blog about challenges. The day you wrote this blog was my birthday and for the last two weeks or more I have been facing my challenges and did not have any problems. However the night of my birthday my husband took me out and I guess I figured since I was celebrating my birthday I could not worry about challenges especially when it comes to sweets. Well I did not do so good in that department and let my guard down and did eat ice cream and shared a large slice of wonderful cake with two other people. However I did not get down on myself because it was my choice and I knew I was doing some serious mindless eating. So now back to eating what keeps me healthy and happy, plus facing my challenges again the right way.

Leave a Reply

