Better by the Dozen

As a Weight Watcher Leader, I’m constantly suggesting (….ok, nudging….ok, pushing…OK, kicking their butts….) my members get out of their comfort zone. We say magic happens outside of your comfort zone. But what does that mean? We say we’re “Beyond the Scale” but does everyone “get” that?

I remember little elf Judy in the movie, The Santa Clause, said to Scott Calvin, “Seeing isn’t believing. Believing is seeing.” Sometimes we can’t know what the magic is until we take a leap of faith and try or experience something.   Trying something can be as small as a new food or as big as a new job or marriage. When we try something, our minds open a bit. (Trust me when I tell you that there is very little magic inside a closed mind.)

These last few days have been amazing.   It started from a simple invite to all WW leaders to come to her house – her state – her meetings. Wait. Back up. Just throwing out an open invite to thousands who she didn’t know? Yeah, it takes a special kind of person to do that. This is a woman who loves people and believes with the utmost faith that all of them are lovable. The first time she cast out this invite three of us took her up on it. This time – twelve.

Twelve women came together – each taking a leap of faith. Each putting aside their time, their money, their work, their families – for a few days with people they didn’t know. Talk about getting out of your comfort zone! Twelve women spanning three decades and five states. Twelve women with different priorities in their lives. Twelve women with different backgrounds. Twelve completely different women who were simultaneously excited and nervous (ok, none of us wanted to get in to bathing suits!) taking a leap of faith. Twelve women who realized that our vulnerabilities are our strengths. Twelve women whose passion to help others – including and especially our members – was palpable. Twelve of the most beautiful beings I’ve ever encountered.

What happened was exponential power. Each of us imperfect beings, but as a group it couldn’t have been more perfect.

I knew it would be great. I didn’t know how great. I knew I’d meet new friends. I didn’t know my heart would be filled with love for these women and my life changed forever. I didn’t know I’d become a better leader, listener, sharer.  I can’t do math, but if you take 12 women and each have new and unique friendships – well, you get the idea. It’s a LOT!

Beyond the Scale has taken Weight Watchers exactly there – BEYOND the scale.   We know that in order to be our healthiest selves, we need to focus on food, fitness, and fulfillment. We got all three.   Our host planned a healthy few days complete with incredibly healthy and delicious food, walks downtown and on the beach, and the whole few days took the term “fulfillment” to new levels.My goal – my theme, so to speak – for this year was to Nourish.   Nourish my body, my mind, my soul.   This was nourishing.  We lived Beyond the Scale.

The list of people to thank is too long and this isn’t the Academy Awards. It’s just my take.   But I will thank Weight Watchers (as I do so often in this blog) for changing my life for the better first as a member (always as member!) and then as a colleague.   And Lisa, my dear amazing friend…. Thank you for loving us so individually and so jointly and so completely.

Next time you’re on the fence about something – something that you know would be good but you’re too nervous to try – close your eyes and jump. Let the magic in!

“Saying yes . . . saying yes is courage. Saying yes is the sun. Saying yes is life.”
― Shonda Rhimes.   We said yes.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Better by the Dozen

  1. Lucky you, Marci for getting to feel all that love and support and thank you, Marci for sharing it with the rest of us!

  2. WOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOW! Marci-you captured our thoughts and the essence of our gathering so completely. I know each of us felt the same way. I said earlier today that you are my hero-you have just upped your status to superhero!!!!! Thank you for expressing so beautifully the magic and extending that to all of us who were part or the gathering, as well as others. Wrapping you in light and love and sending tons of love your way. Randi

  3. Love the concept, love the photo, love you! “Things are as they are. Looking out at the universe at night, we make no comparisons between right and wrong stars, nor between well and badly arranged constellations.” Alan Watts “I would always rather be happy than dignified.”   Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre “Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.” ~~Ralph Waldo Emerson When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” – Fred Rogers

    From: Losing weight….Maintaining weight loss…. living life! And bacon! To: marie_claire111@yahoo.com Sent: Monday, June 27, 2016 10:27 AM Subject: [New post] Better by the Dozen #yiv4321763591 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4321763591 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4321763591 a.yiv4321763591primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4321763591 a.yiv4321763591primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4321763591 a.yiv4321763591primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4321763591 a.yiv4321763591primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4321763591 WordPress.com | marciwalker posted: “As a Weight Watcher Leader, I’m constantly suggesting (….ok, nudging….ok, pushing…OK, kicking their butts….) my members get out of their comfort zone. We say magic happens outside of your comfort zone. But what does that mean? We say we’re “Beyond the Sca” | |

  4. I so wish I could have been there. I wanted to, but grandma duties always come in first. It looks like you had an amazing time. I wish I could have met all of you – my role models – and been inspired by you. It sounds, and looks like you all had an amazing time. Hopefully there will be a next year!

  5. Marci,

    WOW! Tears are streaming down my face as I read your beautiful words penned from your heart. You put into words what was in my heart as well. This weekend was like no other in my life. So many things had to come together for this weekend to be so beautiful.

    I am still overwhelmed with humbled gratitude that God chose me to be a part of it all. That I felt so included and loved by you all. I am so thankful you took up your pen today and got these words written down. You have a gift with words, my dear friend. So you write and I’ll take the pictures!

    Thanks so much for sharing with us!

Leave a Reply

